Scotland U21 Squad Chosen

Last updated : 15 August 2002 By Grandmaster Suck
New Scotland Under 21 coach Rainer Bonhof has chosen his first squad, to
face Denmark at East End Park, Dunfermline, next Tuesday, 20 August.

After three days of coaching and a trial match against Kilmarnock on
Tuesday, Bonhof added to nine pre-selected players with a selection of
Scotland's best young talent.

And for those who did not make the squad, there may be a further opportunity
as the coach listed seven players on stand-by: Kris Boyd (Kilmarnock), Simon
Lynch (Celtic), Alan Morgan (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen Murray (Kilmarnock),
David McCracken (Dundee Utd), Burton O'Brien (Blackburn Rovers) and Stephen Pearson (Motherwell).

With the Under 21s also facing Israel and Northern Ireland early next month,
there will be further opportunities to bring in players to the squad.


Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian)
David McEwan (Livingston)
Allan McGregor (Rangers)
Derek Soutar (Dundee)

Gary Caldwell (Newcastle United)
Peter Canero (Kilmarnock)
Chris Doig (Nottingham Forest)
Andrew Dowie (Rangers)
Stuart Duff (Dundee United)
Steven Hammell (Motherwell)
John Kennedy (Celtic)
Jamie McCunnie (Dundee United)

Darren Fletcher (Manchester United)
Stephen Hughes (Rangers)
Brian Kerr (Newcastle United)
Ian Murray (Hibernian)
Jamie McFadden (Motherwell)
Stephen Simmons (Heart of Midlothian)
Michael Stewart (Manchester United)

Darren Mackie (Aberdeen)
Shaun Maloney (Celtic)
Steven McLean (Rangers)
Tom McManus (Hibernian)
Garry O'Connor (Hibernian)